sistersuzisewing

16/08/2011

1827 costume collected

Filed under: Uncategorized — by sistersuzi @ 18:18

The lady came and collected the remaining bits of the 1827 costume, and tried on the cap. The lace looked way too flat, but the organza strip I had prepared had disappeared this morning. I’ve no doubt it will turn up again soon, as I would much rather use that. She found the cap fitted well, so I shall finish it with a better frill, make a copy or two of the collar, and send them off.

Those will not happen immediately, but am taking a little break from sewing for others. I have several items I wasnt to make for myself, having bought yet more fabric over the summer!

However, I was on tenterhooks over the weekend as I had sent the 1785 dress off on the overnight train to Inverness without a final fitting, and didn’t get the usual note to say it had arrived!

Matching stripes!

 

 Eventually I got a note saying she’d worn it, but it need the alterations I had mentioned – the sleeves need twisting a fraction. Also, proper lace falls on the sleeves need to be added. But then she sent a small, blurry picture, adn commented that she felt and looked like a Duchess – as that was the theme I was very pleased

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

